Big Foot Sprints 2023 - Going Wild in the Gardens

Big Foot Sprints XXVI


Join us for the 26th anniversary of Big Foot Sprints on Sunday 17 December 2023.

Ku-ring-gai Wildflower Garden, Mona Vale Road, St Ives.


Big Foot Sprints is an annual two-course sprint event with an exciting chasing start for your second course.  There are only two classes: Open Men and Open Women. Everybody runs the same courses. The second course is run as a chasing start based on your time over the first course.

Map scale is 1:3000

Terrain will be a mixture of trails, bush, and park areas.  There will be a number of out-of-bounds areas marked on the map in  purple hatching and olive green.  Make yourself aware of these and do not cross them.

Full body cover is recommended.  No metal spiked shoes please.

Assembly will be at Lambert’s Clearing, 250m from the car parking.  The car parking location is marked in Eventor.  Follow the pink tape and signs from the western end of the car park to the clearing.  Water and toilets will be available at assembly. 

Warm up will be along the route to the start and any tracks that are east of assembly (the area to the west is OOB before racing).

Loose control descriptions will be available for both races.

Race 1 start will be a remote start approx 400m from assembly.  Follow the signs and watch for traffic in the final 150m. Queuing starts from 09.30 every 30".  Course closure will be 10.45.

Race 2 is a chasing start which will happen as soon as possible after the first race.  Line-up will along the northern end of Lambert's Clearing (assembly) queuing from left to right in ascending time order.

There will be an informal presentation to champions and place getters as soon as possible after the second race.

We'll be wrapped up by 13.30 as Lambert's Clearing is booked by another group following this event.

Entry is by pre-entry only, there is NO enter on the day.  Entries are currently open in Eventor and will close at midnight Friday 15th December 2023.  

Fees:  Seniors: $16 member of an orienteering club, $20 non-member.  Juniors: $11 members, $15 non-member. 


When leaving the event please note that turning right onto Mona Vale Road can be difficult in traffic.  The median area is also not very wide.  If in doubt please turn left.  There is a roundabout just after the exit for Belrose shops which can be used to get back onto the west bound side of Mona Vale Road.


The Time

The Place

The boy

The girl

1997 Darks Common Mike Billinghurst (BF) Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1998 Billenbenbong Creek Jock Davis (BF) Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1999 Riverview Alan Garde (NC) Julie Calder (BF)
2001 The Big Show Neil Prosser (BF) Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2002 Darks Common Robbie Preston (NC) Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2003 The Big Show Jock Davis (BF) Grace Elson (WR)
2004 Beecroft Park Andrew Hill (WHO) Jo Parr (BF)
2005 The Big Show Andrew Hill (WHO) Carol Osborne (BF)
2006 Darks Common Dave Meyer (SH) Yelena Fairfax (MF)
2007 The Big Show

Jock Davis (BF)

Jo Parr (BF)

2008 UTS Lindfield and Lane Cove NP

Dave Shepherd (RR)

Jo Allison (RR)

2009 Nurragingy Jock Davis (BF) Tracy Marsh (BF)
2010 Olympic Park Lachlan Dow (BS) Tracy Marsh (BF), Lisa Grant (GO)
2011 The Big Show Josh Blatchford (NC) Cath Chalmers (BF)
2012 Darks Common Patrik Gunnarsson (BF) Tracy Marsh (BF)
2013 Sydney University Andrew Brown (BF) Rachel Effeney (UG)
2014 The Big Show Christian Tingström (Göteborg Majorna OK) Viktoria Ernstsson (Göteborg Majorna OK)
2015 Bicentennial Park Toby Wilson (GO) Marina Iskhakova (BN)
2016 Crimson Hill Julian Dent (CC) Shannon Jones (AO)
2017 Nurragingy Aidan Dawson (GO) Lisa Grant (GO)
2018 Macquarie Hospital Ewan Shingler (BF) Michele Dawson (GO)
2019 Callan Park Alastair George (BF) Nea Shingler (BF)
2020* Ferretville Ewan Shingler (BF) Nea Shingler (BF)
2021 Showtime Ewan Shingler (BF) Nea Shingler (BF)
2022 Ingleside Scout Camp Ryan Gray (UG) Nea Shingler (BF)
2023 Wildflower Gardens, St Ives Alastair George (BF) Emily Sorenson (BF)

Race not held in 2000, by special request of Juan, to avoid reducing quality of competition at the Olympics.

*2020 race held in 2021 due to COVID-19